Nestled in lush greenery, the pearl of the Côte Fleurie is the promise of magical moments that will not leave you indifferent. You are ready ? Embark on a ride in a resort with a radiant heritage and bewitching nature.

A seaside resort with a radiant heritage

Located in Normandy, between Cabourg and Villers-sur-Mer, Houlgate is a friendly and family seaside resort on a human scale where charm and tranquility reign. Its particularity, it draws it from its history but also from its seaside heritage. It still shines today with its 300 preserved villas, its two former grand hotels including the former Grand Hotel de Houlgate and its casino.


A remarkable story

The historical past of Houlgate does not go unnoticed. The waterfall, the Fishermen's House, the Landry Mill or the William the Conqueror column are all symbols that recall this era.

But that's not all, like the many other sister cities in its territory, the town of Houlgate holds other secrets. Besides, one of them concerns his name which comes to us straight vikings. Yes, the name of Houlgate is Scandinavian!

To learn more about the secrets of the resort, take part in our guided tours.

Visite_commentee-Houlgate
©

Houlgate: a family, tourist and sports resort

Labeled Family Plus, Houlgate is conducive to relaxation and good times spent together. All the resort's partners are made aware of how to offer a serene and secure environment for you and your children. With your mind freed, you will be more available to have fun! 

Casino, cinema, library, beach services, kids' clubs, 18-hole golf course, tennis, horse riding, climbing, miniature golf, climbing wall, hiking, kitesurfing, sailing: it takes what it takes to make everyone happy and fortunately, the list is not finished!

A unique natural setting

Falaises_des_Vaches_noires
©

Paths of hikes, for an classified archaeological and environmental site, breathtaking panoramas all around the resort: so many aspects and landscapes that give Houlgate this unique and exceptional natural setting.

A varied festive and cultural program

If you are looking for the common point between a kite, photos, a reel of film, jazz, street performances and a skewer of comedians, it is in Houlgate that you will find the answer.

Each year, the city hosts and organizes festivals, cultural and musical events and many animations. Something to keep you busy and entertained in all seasons!

Houlgate Plein Vent

24Sep

Houlgate Plein Vent

Du 24 September au 25 September 2022
Houlgate

Houlgate Festival & Baie de Scène

01Sep

Houlgate Festival & Stage Bay

Du 01 September au 04 September 2022
Houlgate

Semaine de la Découverte

26Oct

Discovery Week

Du 26 October au November 05 2022
Cabourg

What to do in Houlgate?

Passing through the resort for a short or long stay? Here is a small list non-exhaustive, of things to see, approved by the team of the tourist office and… by our dear subscribers of course!

Are you looking for accommodation for your next stay?

Nichée dans un écrin de verdure, la perle de la Côte Fleurie, c’est la promesse d’instants magiques qui ne vous laisseront pas indifférent. Vous êtes prêt ? Embarquez pour une balade dans une station au patrimoine rayonnant et à la nature envoûtante.

Une station balnéaire au patrimoine rayonnant

Située en Normandie, entre Cabourg et Villers-sur-Mer, Houlgate est une station balnéaire conviviale et familiale à dimension humaine où règnent charme et tranquillité. Sa particularité, elle la tire de son histoire mais également de son patrimoine balnéaire. Il rayonne encore aujourd’hui avec ses 300 villas préservées, ses deux anciens grand-hôtels dont l’ancien Grand Hôtel de Houlgate et son casino.


Une histoire remarquable

Le passé historique de Houlgate ne passe pas inaperçu. La cascade, la maison des Pêcheurs, le Moulin Landry ou la colonne Guillaume le Conquérant sont autant de symboles qui rappellent cette époque.

Mais ce n’est pas tout, comme les nombreuses autres villes sœurs de son territoire, la ville de Houlgate détient d’autres secrets. D’ailleurs, l’un d’eux concerne son nom qui nous vient tout droit des vikings. Eh oui, le nom de Houlgate est scandinave !

Pour en apprendre plus sur les secrets de la station, prenez part à nos visites guidées.

Visite_commentee-Houlgate
©

Houlgate : une station familiale, touristique et sportive

Houlgate est propice à la détente et aux bons moments passés ensemble. Tous les partenaires de la station sont sensibilisés pour proposer un cadre serein et sécurisé, pour vous et vos enfants. L’esprit libéré, vous serez davantage disponible pour vous amuser ! Casino, cinéma, bibliothèque, services de plage, clubs pour enfants, golf 18 trous, tennis, équitation, escalade, golf miniature, mur d’escalade, randonnées, kitesurf, voile : il faut ce qu’il faut pour rendre tout le monde heureux et fort heureusement, la liste n’est pas terminée !

Séjourner à Houlgate

Vous êtes en train de planifier vos prochaines vacances sur Houlgate? Voici quelques idées qui pourraient vous aider dans la recherche d’hébergement, de restaurants et d’activités à faire seul, en famille, entre amis.

Un cadre naturel unique

Falaises_des_Vaches_noires
©

Des chemins de randonnées, un site archéologique et environnemental classé, des panoramas à couper le souffle tout autour de la station : autant d’aspects et de paysages qui donnent à Houlgate ce cadre naturel unique et exceptionnel à la fois.

Une programmation festive et culturelle variée

Si vous cherchez le point commun entre un cerf-volant, des photos, une bobine de film, le jazz, des spectacles de rue et une brochette d’humoristes, c’est à Houlgate que vous trouverez la réponse.

Chaque année, la ville accueille et organise des festivals, des événements culturels et musicaux et de nombreuses animations. De quoi vous occuper et vous divertir en toute saison !

Houlgate Plein Vent

04mai

Houlgate Plein Vent

Du 04 mai au 05 mai 2024
Houlgate

Houlgate Festival & Baie de Scène

04sept.

Houlgate Festival & Baie de Scène

Du 04 sept. au 08 sept. 2024
Houlgate

Festival du film européen de Houlgate

16octo.

Festival du film européen de Houlgate

Du 16 octo. au 22 octo. 2024
Houlgate